MPS historical timeline

A history of the Metropolitan Police from 1829 to the present. In these pages you will find descriptions of famous and lesser known events throughout the history of The Met as well as biographies of key figures and details of famous cases. See the related documents for earlier timeline information

Time Line 2010-Present

In June 2011 Sir Paul Stephenson resigns from the post of Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police

In September 2011 Bernard Hogan-Howe becomes Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police

In January 2013 Sir Bernard Hogan-Howe was awarded a knighthood in the Queen's 2013 New Year Honours.